Skip to main content


SALT LAKE CITY – The Utah State Board of Education is pleased to announce the names of the Five 2022 Utah finalists for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST).

2022 Utah Elementary Mathematics Finalists

Quinn Braden, Meadow Elementary School, Alpine District
Stacy Stoker, Red Cliffs Elementary School, Juab School District
Cheri Weske, Diamond Ridge Elementary School, Granite District

2022 Utah Elementary Science Finalists

Ashley Hare, Edison Elementary School, Salt Lake City School District
Lanette (Stephens) Searle, Municipal Elementary School, Weber School District

PAEMST is the highest honor bestowed by the United States government specifically for K–12 science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and/or computer science teaching. Finalists serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of STEM education.

In the next step of the selection process, 2022 PAEMST finalists’ applications will be reviewed by a national selection committee. Then, The White House will announce the results of the national selection process. The timing of the announcement depends largely on The White House schedule, but it is predicted to occur in summer/fall 2022. From these five finalists, two will be chosen to be the 2022 Utah PAEMST awardees. They will receive a certificate signed by the President of the United States, a paid trip for two to Washington, D.C. to attend a series of recognition events and a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation.