Skip to main content


logo white ribbon 61e40a80caa6e9cec9df03f888e58689The Utah State Board of Education announced the names of the five 2021 Utah finalists for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

2021 Utah Secondary Mathematics Finalists

  • Dawn Barson, Juab High School, Juab School District
  • Karen Feld, American Fork High School, Alpine School District
  • Todd Vawdrey, West High School, Salt Lake City School District

2021 Utah Secondary Science Finalists

  • Angela Stewart, Centennial Jr. High, Davis School District
  • Matthew Woolley, Mountain Ridge Jr. High, Alpine School District

The Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) is the highest honor bestowed by the United States government specifically for K–12 science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and/or computer science teaching. Finalists serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of STEM education.

In the next step of the selection process, 2021 PAEMST finalists’ applications will be reviewed by a national selection committee. Then, the White House will announce the results of the national selection process. The timing of the announcement depends largely on the White House schedule, but it is predicted to occur in summer/fall 2021. From these five finalists, two will be chosen to be the 2021 Utah PAEMST awardees. They will receive a certificate signed by the President of the United States, a paid trip for two to Washington, D.C. to attend a series of recognition events and a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation.